My wife first introduced me to the “bagelburger” back in 1975. I had just met her during our last semester at university and she took me to a little place on Park Avenue (no resemblance to the one in New York) called Dusty’s, where students and other impoverished beings could get a satisfying meal for under $3. Dusty’s and its kin are all imitators of that Montreal landmark, Beauty’s, which, since 1942, has been serving up a unique combination of Jewish deli plus.

I immediately loved the bagelburger. Although I had eaten smoked salmon before, it had always been on its own or as canapés at parties. The combination of bagel, cream cheese, smoked salmon, tomatoes, and onions was breathtaking. It has remained a staple in our home ever since; although we prefer it open-faced (it just seems more satisfying that way).

This morning’s breakfast:

  • Fresh bagel from St. Viateur
  • Liberty cream cheese (the only one with no additives)
  • My homemade gravlax using New Victoria’s very fatty salmon
  • Capers
  • Tomato
  • Red onions
  • A large cup of Greek coffee

I had hoped to show a photo of the finished product….but I ate the evidence before I could take the photo!

DSCF0642

