My wife and I are food snobs. After all, if you score 94% on Michael Pollan’s Food Rules, you can’t be eating too much packaged crap. But not all crap is packaged and not all packaged food is necessarily crap (just the vast majority). In the past, for example, I’ve waxed enthusiastic about packaged specialty spices for various ethnic dishes and how these tend to be much fresher and flavorful than the stuff sitting in my spice-shelf for the past 35 years.

For the last four months, I’ve been working on a project for a PR firm. The folks at the firm have been charged with spinning a product that on the surface is (to me) extremely unappealing and distasteful. But no matter whom I speak to, they absolutely rave about the product and keep insisting that once I try it, I will be nuts for it. So today I finally bit. Batter Blaster canned, pressurized pancake/waffle batter. Yes, you read right. Pancake batter in a can. Organic. All-natural ingredients. Even Consumer Reports gave it a thumbs up.

I made two pancakes each for The Kommandant and myself as tonight’s dessert. She had no clue what I was doing. I told her it was a new quick recipe for pancakes. They were light, fluffy, airy, and without a hint of the typical artificial back-of-the-throat aftertaste. She loved them. It took all of 5 minutes to make them (and that was mostly the time waiting for them to cook in the skillet). Served with an outstanding Quebec maple syrup, they were excellent and compared favorably to our home-made version. With the kids now moved out, it’s becoming increasingly tough to make things that normally have to be made in quantity. Batter Blaster is a great occasional treat for empty nesters or singles/couples who don’t want to prepare a full recipe. Highly recommended.

Now I must brace myself from the jeers of derision from Mr. Italo and my other food-snob companions. But as the ancient Greeks said: Everything in moderation. Besides I like to be a little unpredictable, it keeps them on their toes.

