Our eating has reached a pretty high level of excellence, with about 80% of what’s consumed organic, free-range, grass-fed, etc. etc. We eat a tremendous variety of fruits and vegetables, whole grains, etc. Ninety percent of our meals are home-cooked. I can’t even remember the last junk-food meal I had….could have been a chili at Wendy’s in Plattsburgh maybe 20 years ago.

So there you have it. Yet, my weight continues to escalate. I was lamenting this fact to my wife this morning over our organic whole-grain toast, organic peanut butter, and grapefruit-tangerine-blood-orange mixture that I had fresh-squeezed just minutes earlier.

She gave me the blank look that said, “Been here before”, as she listened to my self-pitying whining. When I had finally stopped my rant, she spoke: “You can’t lose weight…eating meals from a pie-plate”. It even rhymes.

