What kind of burger would a dyed-in-the-wool Frenchman make if he were so inclined? Certainly not something that even remotely resembled the dreaded “McDo”.

I present to you my imagined rendition of this delight. Living as I do in the second largest French-speaking city in the world outside of Paris, I feel a certain entitlement to such creative license.

A mini-baguette made of nothing but flour, water, and salt. A thin bed of Dijon on which I’ve sprinkled some Vietnamese hot chilies (harking back to France’s long colonial period in Indochina). A cozy bed of roquette (arugula). An oblong-shaped burger of coarsely chopped bison, topped with a few thick slabs of Normandy brie gently melted during the last few minutes on the BBQ. Here it is deconstructed:

And the final product…waiting to be sliced by La Guillotine

Served with my homemade French-style potato salad

