I received quite a bit of flack around my use of bison instead of horse meat for my earlier La Guillotine burger rendition. So I went back to the drawing board and managed to create perhaps my piece-de-resistance of burgers to date.

On the bottom: An Arhoma linseed bun. Olive-oil mayonnaise. A covering of fresh baby spinach from the Hippie farm.

The burger: Freshly ground horse sirloin, sprinkled with a little dried smoked garlic, salt, and pepper. Handled as gently as possible to shape a rough patty.

On top: Le Mamirolle cheese from Quebec. One of the stinkiest rinds – it makes Limburger smell like the Flower of Papeete – yet an incredibly mild rich center that melts beautifully. Topped with fresh figs peeled, split and caramelized in a cast-iron pan sprayed with olive oil.

The salad: My homemade Greek salad of cucumbers, Canadian hothouse cherry-tomatoes, red pepper, garlic-stuffed green olives, fresh green onions from the Hippie market, sheep’s milk feta, spicy pepperoncini, To Manna rye rusk, and organic olive oil.

