I was intrigued to discover why Bliss Thermal Shaving Cream had been discontinued (see previous post) and wondered if it might be because the product was harmful in some way. During my research, I came across a very valuable site called Skin Deep Cosmetic Safety Database, by the Environmental Working Group, a site that reviews some 56,000 products for the safety records of their ingredients. It assigns a 0-10 safety score along with a percentage “Data Gap” indicating how well supported the research for the given score is.The higher the Data Gap, the less we know about the ingredients.

The Bliss cream scores a 5 (moderate risk) with a Data Gap of 78%. This is pretty average for most of the commercial products I looked up on the site.

A very worthwhile site which I’m going to refer to for everything I currently use.

