I’ve had salmon tartare in restaurants a number of times and it looks fairly simple to make. Well, it is. Nothing simpler; maybe 5 minutes of effort, wonderful taste, and loaded with Omega-3’s. I adapted Laura Calder’s recipe, tweaking the quantities a little. I used fresh, farmed Atlantic salmon. I read somewhere that farmed salmon doesn’t need freezing in order to kill parasitic worms in the flesh, since it apparently doesn’t suffer from these. I wasn’t sure of this factoid, so I froze the salmon for a day or two, just in case. The beauty of Atlantic salmon is that it’s very fatty, so freezing doesn’t seem to affect its texture at all.

  • 4 ounces raw salmon, coarsely diced
  • One or two green onions, finely chopped
  • One tablespoon capers, finely chopped
  • Two tablespoons red pepper, finely chopped
  • One half teaspoon dried or fresh dill
  • One tablespoon olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Eat either plain, on toast, or with a hard-boiled egg on the side for breakfast. Pour into a timbale (round metal form) and top with a little black caviar for extra elegance.

