My first Glorious One-Pot Meal had garnered great reviews from my thin, fussy-eater wife, so I decided to give it another go…this time with some beautiful fresh, thick, Atlantic cod. I had more than a little trepidation; cod cooks very quickly, and I feared that the 45 minutes in the Dutch oven would surely overcook it.

I sauteed chopped onions in olive oil (directly in my 6 liter Emile Henry pot, but stove-top), added a cup of a commercial rice blend (basmati, quinoa, and wild rice) and one cup of water, which I quickly brought to a boil. Removing the pot from the heat, I layered in 3 thick fish fillets topped with black olives, chopped garlic, feta cheese, parsley and hand-crushed canned Italian tomatoes (no juice). On top of this I layered in sliced fresh red pepper, sliced carrots, whole green beans, and sliced zucchini, drizzled with about a tablespoon of olive oil. In the oven at 450F for 45 minutes.

The result was astonishing. The fish was moist and flaky, the rice perfectly done, and all the vegetables just the right tender crunchiness. But what really got to me was the incredible blending of flavor (why Yarnell has chosen to call this technique “Infusion” cooking). My wife rolled her eyes in appreciation and said, “Now, this is my type of cooking…clean, delicious food”.

I’m hooked. Thanks to Leisureguy for patiently convincing me to try it.

