I was up this morning at my usual Summer wake-up time of 4:45 AM. By 5:30 I had done my various ablutions and was headed to the back patio to set things up for my morning coffee. As I stepped out onto the patio I noticed that the various avian denizens of the night, the massive crows and seagulls that particularly favor our lakeside venue, had dropped several large and particularly nasty-looking scats right near the door. I noticed the hose nearby, from where my wife had left it after watering her plants the night before.

I turned on the water, hosed off the scats from the patio, and then noticed that they had also done their business all over the large rolling recycling blue-bin next to the door – so I hosed that off too. Hose in hand, and about to turn off the water and get to my coffee ritual, I noticed that the gas BBQ was looking particularly crusty after having been left uncovered all year long (not my fault, the snows came early last Fall and before I could wash and cover it, it was already full of snow),

So I got a bucket, filled it with Pine Sol, water, and the appropriate scrubbers and rags, and went at it for about an hour. Standing back from my now glistening handiwork, and about to dump the soapy bucket, I also noticed that the large simulated-wood patio-box where we store our garbage bags away from the many animals in our ‘hood, was looking particularly grungy – so I gave it a scrub-down too.

Too lazy to go around the house and turn off the water, and by now exhausted from my early-morning labors, I plugged the hose into the garden soaker, and let it spritz the flowers.

It’s now almost 7:30 AM and I’ve been working for nearly two hours. DAMN THOSE CROWS AND SEAGULLS!!!

