There’s such a vast assortment of shaving soaps and creams on the market today (mainly through on-line vendors), that it’s easily possible to use a different product every day of the year before coming back to an old favorite.

I used to be a “cream man”, preferring them to soaps since they almost always lather up more easily and have a thicker, more protective texture. But then I got better at using the soaps and found myself all but ignoring the creams. Pity, because one of the best shaving creams on the market is also the only truly unscented one I have ever used: The Gentlemens Refinery UnScented Shave Cream.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve also found myself increasingly disliking scented products, especially when used in the inevitable combinations required in performing one’s daily “toilette”: Shampoo, face soap, body wash, shave cream/soap, moisturizer, deodorant, and after-shave. I remember, depending on the combinations, starting my day smelling like a cheap bordello from all the conflicting perfumes.

These day, I prefer to use everything unscented, and let the after-shave lotion define my scent for the day. Fortunately, it’s becoming increasingly possible. Here’s what I use:

  • Shampoo: Neutragena Anti-residue Shampoo
  • Face soap: Clinique or Neutragena (both unscented)
  • Shave cream: The GR UnScented
  • Body wash: Dove Men+Care Sensitive Clean Unscented
  • Moisturizer: The GR Standard After Shave Balm (I also like Clinique’s M-Lotion)

The GR products are outstanding. While I’m not a big fan of pre-shave oils, their After Shave Balm may well be the best men’s facial moisturizer on the market, and their shave creams are tops for both performance and hypo-allergenicity. The product line is very “rational”, i.e. it doesn’t have the dozens of products that appeal to “metros”, but it does have all the products a man actually needs.

