Last night we were invited to a friend’s home for dinner. Just back from a holiday cruise to Dubai, the theme was Middle Eastern: Couscous with pomegranate and pine nuts and two-inch thick lamb chops slowly braised…in Coca Cola!!!!!

I must have been living under a culinary rock all these years because I had never heard of this technique, yet a quick Google reveals dozens of recipes for braising meat in cola. Apparently, the acidity of the cola helps to break down the meat proteins, while the sugar lends an ever-so-subtle sweetness (almost imperceptible).

The lamb was truly the most tender I have ever eaten….and I’ve eaten a helluva lot of lamb in my life. I can’t wait to try this technique; from the searches I did, it seems particularity favored for pork. Here’s a recipe for pork ribs braised in cola.

