My daughter and a friend dropped by for breakfast this morning, part of their regular Sunday cycling itinerary; 50 km of riding (her friend was also pulling his 3-year old daughter in a cart), before lunch.

I served them the type of breakfast that only someone who earns it can eat: Poilane bread toasted on the BBQ, topped with pan-fried saganaki (Greek kefalotiri cheese), an over-easy egg, and leftover BBQ’d ribs from yesterday’s “boys lunch” (my annual treat for a few of my buddies). Along with fresh-squeezed o.j. and a large Greek coffee, I figured it would hold them. But they were still hungry. So out came some leftover BBQ’d calamari from last night and some blueberries.

I think I’m going to start working out a lot harder….just to be able to eat like that with impunity.

