I have created a new category: “No cure for stupidity”.

I’m reminded daily of my cousin George’s tongue-in-cheek remark that “50% of all people are of below average intelligence”. While the statement itself isn’t actually true (intelligence is measured on a functional scale where 100 represents normal intelligence, and the majority of people are around that level), nevertheless there are  A LOT of stupid people out there. Case in point: I was at Costco yesterday. The pretty blond packing my purchases had almost finished, with only two items left over: A Styrofoam pack of eggs and a watermelon. She grabbed a flat open box, put in the watermelon and then proceeded to cram the eggs next to the watermelon.

I looked at her and said: “That doesn’t look like such a great idea”. She stared at me and said, “Oh, no, they’re perfectly safe, they’re wedged in nice and tight together”. We can perhaps suppose she might have imagined that I planned to walk the box home in my hands rather than drive it there in the trunk of my car where the watermelon would surely bounce around turning the eggs into an omelet-ready mixture. Sure, let’s be charitable.

But these types of encounters are a daily experience for me. I don’t know about you.

