Well, I just new it. Friday the 13th would have some not so great news. Mr. Italo kindly sent me this link to the Global Fat Scale. It allows you to enter your country, weight, and height, and get feedback on how much fatter you are than everyone of your gender and age in your own country, as well as the world.

It turns out that I’m fatter than 99% of all males my age in Canada, and 100% of all males my age in the rest of the world. Of course that last one seems rather spurious to me, as it would imply statistically that I’m the fattest man on the planet, and I know from my visits to various other countries, especially the good old USA, that there are plenty of guys way fatter than me out there. Hell, they’ve built entire reality shows after them!

My test also adds: “If everyone in the world had the same BMI as you, it would add 187,907,137 tonnes to the total weight of the world’s population”. I suspect this would likely throw the earth’s orbit off its axis and we would go spiraling into a back hole of Higgs boson particles.

Try it for yourself.

Ah, statistics…..they may not lie, but liars sure like to use them.

