If you’re a frequent flier, you know that the restrictions on carry-on liquids have been a real pain-in-the-ass (PITA) for the carrying of one’s daily toiletterie needs. It’s hard enough for a man, I can only imagine how tough it must be for women, who carry vast armamentaria of lotions and potions.

My own needs are quite simple: Some shampoo, body wash, shaving cream, after-shave balm. Unfortunately, most of the stuff that I like (fragrance-free) isn’t available in small travel sizes, and I’m stuck trying to download them into cheap, rigid, leaky, weirdly shaped plastic containers that I buy at the drug-store. And getting stuff out of these rigid plastic bottles is often a challenge, especially when you’re down to the last few drops you need to get at on a longer stay.

Yesterday, I was at our local kayaking and outdoors store, Base Camp. These are terrific people. It’s a small store but renown for having the top-of-the-line equipment in every category they support. We’ve bought four kayaks from them over the years, as well as a host of accessories. But it’s not about the equipment, it’s about the service. The staff is highly knowledgeable and tremendously helpful. Last week I bought a roof rack for the kayaks and yesterday the Thule bike accessories. In each case the staff (yesterday it was the owner) spent hours installing everything for me…no charge.

While I was at the store, I noticed something called Go Toobs. These are plastic containers with a soft body and a solid, wide, leak-proof, drip-proof cap. And get a load of the suction cup on the medium size, that allows you to stick it to the shower stall wall if there’s no shelf! Ingenious. I bought the only two they had left and plan to order a couple more. This is a real Cool Tool! Can’t wait to try them out on my next trip. There are a million ideas waiting for discovery out there. You just have to look at those small daily frustrations that you go through, to find them.

