I got a good laugh in the car this morning. Every Saturday there’s a home renovation show on the radio. The “expert” is admittedly very good and knowledgeable. He has a renovations business. One caller thanked him profusely for his terrific public service in bringing his expertise and advice to the radio audience. That’s when I burst out laughing! You mean there are people out there who actually don’t know that this guy pays to be on the radio and that it is, for all intents and purposes, an infomercial??

But don’t feel bad….up until a couple of years ago I also suffered from this congenial naiveté, where I believed that the radio/TV stations actually pay these people to come on as a public service.  That is, until a friend who works in sales at the largest network offered me my own radio “show”, and at a very attractive price! The only proviso was that I have something to talk about that would have broad appeal.

Yup, I hate to burst your bubble, but the home renovations, auto repair, cook, immigration lawyer, and tax accountant “experts” have all bought this time as PR for their businesses. Now, I’m not saying it’s a bad thing; in fact I have always found their expertise to be very solid, and have even hired a couple for projects over the years….but it is deceptive and ingenuous.

