250px-Circuit_Mont-Tremblant_Track_Map.svg

Some 35 years ago, I completed the Jim Russell International Racing Driver’s School at Le Circuit Mont Tremblant, about 2 hours North of Montreal. It is a legendary track with a long history of hosting major international events, including the Canadian Grand-Prix in the late 1960’s and early ’70’s.

It is a spectacularly beautiful course, nestled in the lush rolling hills of the Laurentians.

20120708-porsche0709px800

My course was my last hurrah as I entered marriage and parenthood; a fitting last fling at the carefree life. No regrets.

My son is a car nut. When his birthday came up earlier this Summer I had the rather brilliant idea of giving him the opportunity to take two laps around the course in a Lamborghini or Ferrari. This is a business run by G1 Tour on a number of tracks in the province, the longest and most famous being the one at Mont-Tremblant.

We left at 6:30 AM and drove in the pouring rain to the track. Fortunately, the rain slowed to a drizzle, making for a very fun ride (I am told). My son’s words were: “The only problem now is that I want to own one of these cars”. Work hard my boy!

He never smiles for any photos, so I’m guessing this is what passes for ecstasy in his facial expressions.

Nick Lambo

